What is Toyota Safety Sense™?

2020 Toyota Corolla High Beams

While searching the Wetumpka area for a new Toyota car, truck, or SUV, you will hear the Toyota experts talking and raving about the Toyota Safety Sense™ safety suite feature that’s standard on most vehicles in the Toyota lineup. This advanced driver-assist and safety technology works to give drivers peace of mind, whether you’re heading out for pizza in or a date night in the city.

Reinhardt Toyota has your details about the TSS™ safety features! Stop by our dealership, so you can try them out for yourself and see why industry experts are excited about this state-of-the-art technology.

Toyota Safety Sense™ Systems

Toyota Safety Sense™ premiered in 2015 with Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) and Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P). As one of the first driver-assist systems on the road, Toyota Safety Sense™ aimed to help drivers keep an eye out for potential hazards with a combination of cameras, radar, and lasers mounted in a vehicle’s windshield, front grille, and bumpers. The Toyota Safety Sense™ systems use audible and visual signals to alert drivers to take action to avoid a collision. If the driver doesn’t respond in time, some systems have the ability to step in and apply the breaks or maneuver the vehicle to prevent a collision from occurring. Currently, there are four types of Toyota Safety Sense™ systems: the new Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS 2.5+). Follow along with Reinhardt Toyota to read about each system below.

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+)

The newest Toyota safety system is Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+). This system is currently only available on the 2021 Toyota Camry and the 2021 Toyota Highlander and builds on the Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) features. New cameras, millimeter-wave radars, and grille-mounted radars will improve response range and enhance pedestrian detection. Features like Intersection Support were added to offer assistance when drivers approach an intersection in Prattville to make a turn when another vehicle or a pedestrian is in the road. Emergency steering assist is another new system that will help drivers stabilize steering maneuvers while avoiding another vehicle, pedestrian, or object in their lane. Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+) will be available on more Toyota vehicles in the future.

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0)

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) is currently the most common Toyota Safety Sense™ system on Toyota models. This is an advanced suit of the safety systems offered on Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) and Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P). Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) features are designed to address three key areas of accident protection: Preventing or mitigating frontal collisions, keeping drivers within their lane, and enhancing road safety during nighttime driving. A camera, a millimeter-wave radar, and a grille-mounted radar monitor a vehicle’s surroundings and offer features like Pre-Collision System, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Lane Departure Alert, Automatic High Beams, Road Sign Assist, and Lane Tracing assist.

Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P)

Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) was released alongside Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) in 2015. This system is available on mid-size and large Toyota vehicles like the Toyota RAV4 and Toyota Sienna. Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) uses a camera and a millimeter-wave radar at the front of the model to search for other vehicles, smaller vehicles like motorcycles, bikes, and pedestrians. Pedestrian detection, Steering Assist, and Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) are also common systems on Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P).

Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C)

Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) was released alongside Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) in 2015. It was built for compact Toyota vehicles like the Toyota Corolla, although it’s no longer found on Toyota models that are from 2018 or newer. A camera and laser radar at the front of the model monitor other vehicles on the road. Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C) features include Pre-Collision System (PCS) with Vehicle Detection, Lane Departure Alert (LDA), and Automatic High Beams (AHB).

Standard Toyota Safety Sense™ on Toyota Models

Every Toyota vehicle has Toyota Safety Sense™ standard on each of their trim levels. Currently, there are no 2021 Toyota models with Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C). See which 2021 Toyota model has which Toyota Safety Sense™ system below:

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.5+ (TSS-2.5+) Models

  • Toyota Camry
  • Toyota Camry Hybrid
  • Toyota Highlander
  • Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS-2.0) Models

  • Toyota Corolla
  • Toyota Corolla Hatchback
  • Toyota Corolla Hybrid
  • Toyota Prius
  • Toyota Prius Prime
  • Toyota Mirai
  • Toyota Sienna
  • Toyota C-HR
  • Toyota RAV4
  • Toyota RAV4 Hybrid
  • Toyota RAV4 Prime
  • Toyota Venza

Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P) Models

  • Toyota Avalon
  • Toyota Avalon Hybrid
  • Toyota Land Cruiser
  • Toyota Sequoia
  • Toyota 4Runner
  • Toyota Tacoma
  • Toyota Tundra

Toyota Safety Sense™ Features

Toyota Safety Sense™ and Toyota Safety Sense™ P were designed and created to keep you and your loved ones protected while on the roads in Prattville. These safety systems include:

  • The Automatic High Beams have a camera on your windshield to assist with nighttime driving as the camera detects headlights and taillights on other vehicles.
  • The Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection (also available with Bicyclist Detection) uses an integrated camera and radar system to lessen the likelihood of striking a vehicle or pedestrian.
  • The Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (also available with Full-Speed Range Dynamic Radar Cruise Control) uses a radar that’s behind the Toyota badge and the camera on the windshield to adjust your speed and help keep a good distance from the car in front of you.
  • Lane Departure Alert (also available with Steering Assist and Road Edge Detection) helps avoid the consequences of unintended lane departure and alerts you when your vehicle starts veering from the lane.
  • Lane Tracing Assist works with the Full-Speed Range Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) and the lane markers in this tool. When enabled, it uses the lines on the roads to keep your vehicle centered in its lane.
  • Road Sign Assist works with the forward-facing intelligent camera to detect speed limit, stop, do not enter, and yield signs and displays them on the MID.

Learn About Toyota Safety Sense™ at Reinhardt Toyota!

The roads in roads can be unpredictable, but with the advanced features of Toyota Safety Sense™, you and your passengers can remain safe. Check out our new Toyota inventory to find the models that feature TSS™, and learn more about our Toyota 4WD and AWD inventories. We have a Toyota vehicle for every type of driver and budget. When you’re ready to take your current commute to the next level, give our team a call to schedule a test drive!